Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada
Share and Bookmark

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada , you can request alternate formats on the Contact Us page.

The Four Host First Nations

The Honourable Chuck Strahl and Chief Ernest Campbell with Musqueam Warriors.
The Honourable Chuck Strahl and Chief Ernest Campbell are escorted by Musqueam Warriors to the Olympic Legacy signing ceremony on July 13, 2008.

The 2010 Winter Games will take place on the traditional shared ancestral Aboriginal territories of the Lil’wat, Musqueam, Squamish, and Tsleil-Waututh First Nations. These Nations are known collectively as the Four Host First Nations.

In November 2004, the Four Host First Nations signed a historic protocol committing them to work together so that their cultures and traditions are respected and showcased throughout the planning, staging, and hosting of the 2010 Winter Games.

This protocol was the first step in creating the Four Host First Nations Society, which works closely with the Government of Canada and all 2010 partners to maximize legacies and benefits for all of Canada’s Aboriginal peoples.

To support Aboriginal participation in the planning, staging, and legacies of the 2010 Winter Games, the Government of Canada has made significant investments in the Four Host First Nations Society and in Olympic Legacies for the Musqueam and Tsleil-Waututh First Nations.

“The Government of Canada strongly believes that the involvement of Aboriginal peoples is vital to the overall success of the 2010 Winter Games.”
David Emerson, Minister of Foreign Affairs (formerly Minister responsible for the Vancouver-Whistler Olympics)